Product Review: David’s Tea: Honeydew Maté

2013-03-29_07-54-45_450

“Come, let us have some tea and continue to talk about happy things.”

– Chaim Potok

I drink tea… a lot of tea. With Mr. Wonderful’s gift of a personal Keurig for my office I drink probably more tea than I should. This is my first time ordering from David’s Tea… which ships out of Canada, but is still magically not super expensive to ship. David’s Tea is also in the process of becoming fair trade certified.

I have been putting so many hours in at that place that I go to all day that I did something super strange for me… I ordered four different non-caffeinated teas. Not just one slipped into my shopping cart, but four. Tired Emme doesn’t always think things through. (That is also why the posts as of late have been a little less thrilling than usual.) The folks up at David’s Tea must have noticed something was strange with my order and they included 3 caffeinated samples with my package. Thank goodness someone was thinking properly. This is the first tea that I have opened from them, but I hope it is a good sign of things to come!

Honeydew Maté

Ingredients: Green rooibos, green yerba maté, white hibiscus blossoms, melon pieces (sugar, green melon, starch) and natural flavoring.

Steep time: 4-7 mins

Temp: 208°

Oh my goodness… there is a melon in my cup… or I just ate one… not so sure. This was not what I was expecting, but in a good way. Usually when a tea company says that “This tastes of bananas” it will taste similar to bananas or maybe like grapes, sometimes they get confused. When David’s Tea tells you this tastes of Melon… this tastes like Melon. You will not be disappointed… that is… unless you don’t like melon, but then you probably wouldn’t give it a try then, would you?

~Emme

Leave a Reply

