What’s local to me in April 2013?

What is local by you right now?

I started keeping track of what is local to me in March last year. It has been a fun journey.

  • Arugula – I’m still in love with this bitter green
  • Asparagus – It’s still just me who likes this
  • Chard – Chard is still one of our favorite greens
  • Cherries – I cannot wait to see these in large quantities
  • Collard Greens – One of my favorites
  • Fennel – We’re going to have to get some of this
  • Garlic Scapes – I have still yet to find these
  • Onions – Always on our counter
  • Kale – Always in the fridge
  • Morels – I have never found these… apparently this would require looking through the woods… and I don’t generally do woods
  • Wild Mushrooms – Morels would also fall into this category
  • Nettles – I have never seen these
  • New Potatoes – Way better than old potatoes
  • Pea Greens – My peas decieed not to grow so I have no shoots or greens
  • Radishes – Mine are about ready to harvest… or were they beets… crap… I forgot what I planted last fall
  • Scallions – I still have some in my freezer
  • Strawberries – I cannot wait to go pick these fresh from the field with grammie again

We do have quite a bit that are year-round foods. My assumption is that this is due to storage of root vegetables/pods and greenhouses.

  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Herbs
  • Leeks
  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Shallots
  • Sorrel
  • Spinach (We like to buy it frozen as we use it mostly in smoothies or soups)
  • Sweet Potatoes

Do you have any suggestions or ideas? What can you not wait for?

~Emme

Leave a Reply

