100 Foods: Cinnamon

While decluttering my bookcase I discovered a hidden gem: Parragon Books’ “100 Best Health Foods.”

This book takes an interesting, in-depth look at 100 amazing foods and discusses their healthy properties. That said, Parragon does not bother to go into any sort of detail as to which seasons the foods are from or where they are from, which is great… as the publisher is in the UK and I am not.

Also the recipes in this book are not necessarily for the busy on-the-go people or they don’t really make the healthy food the stand out in the completed dish.

My plan… I’m going to tackle these 100 health foods relative to their seasonality in my area (some are never seasonable here… but I will follow their seasons in the location in which they are grown) and find simple easy recipes that showcase the foods. Which could be great for amazing foods like plums… but not so great for anchovies…

Cinnamon

Cinnamon is actually inner bark from several trees from the Cinnamomum genus. “True Cinnamon” is from a Sri Lanka variety and is known as Cinnamomum verum or Ceylon cinnamon. As a spice it can be used in both sweet and savory dishes… think apple pie and curry… not together though.

Cinnamon does some magical things: aids with the regulation of blood sugar, aids in metabolism, assists in joint mobility and has shown some progress in helping mice with Alzheimer’s.

While I don’t personally use a lot of cinnamon at the house, I do take a daily cinnamon supplement which does wonders for my joints… though I have to take it right before I go to bed as I get heartburn with it otherwise.

How do you like your cinnamon?

~Emme

Leave a Reply

