Product Review: Art of Tea’s Iron Goddess of Mercy

2013-01-14_08-52-24_222

“Come, let us have some tea and continue to talk about happy things.”

– Chaim Potok

I drink tea… a lot of tea. With Mr. Wonderful’s gift of a personal Keurig for my office I drink probably more tea than I should. This tea was ordered from Art of Tea, it was one of my first sample sized buys

Iron Goddess of Mercy is not fair trade certified. While the fair trade certification does nothing substantial in the flavor of the tea, it does tell you that the quality and standards of life of those that grow and harvest this tea are greater than those who earn below living wage for what they produce. This is neither the time or the place for standing on a soap box… so I will not digress further at this time into the definition of fair trade. There are wonderful explanations on the Art of Tea website and you are more than welcome to go view the videos and learn about what they are doing to ensure a higher quality product.

Iron Goddess of Mercy is 100% Chinese Oolong Tea from Anxi

Please also note that my Keurig is not the recommended way to brew this tea. While it might be the easiest way for me to enjoy tea throughout the day… they recommend steeping 1 teaspoon for 3-5 minutes in 185-206° water. I do own a tea pitcher with infuser (that I can no longer highly recommend as one of mine broke for seemingly no reason) that I bought from Art of Tea. While this allows the tea to properly steep… though I have no control over the 192° temperature.

Am I the only person out there that mainly tastes grass when drinking Oolong tea? Not that I am saying I dislike this tea, just that when I drink Oolong tea my tasting notes always read: “Grass?” It is the perfect taste to go with the smell of fresh cut grass. Strange.

I have never really liked Oolong teas and I am not entirely sure why I ordered this one. What was I thinking? Hmm… I wonder what that grass flavored beverage tastes like. This Oolong is actually light and pleasant tasting… in a grassy goodness sort of way. Iron Goddess of Mercy is meant to be resteeped and it tastes different throughout the day. For a little bit of change you could even sprinkle in a bit of the coconut tea you just happen to have in your tea drawer.

Yes, I probably will order this tea again.

~Emme

Leave a Reply

