Product Review: Art of Tea’s AppleTEA’ni

“Come, let us have some tea and continue to talk about happy things.”

– Chaim Potok

I drink tea… a lot of tea. With Mr. Wonderful’s gift of a personal Keurig for my office I drink probably more tea than I should. This tea was ordered from Art of Tea, it was one of my first sample sized buys

AppleTEA’ni is not fair trade certified. While the fair trade certification does nothing substantial in the flavor of the tea, it does tell you that the quality and standards of life of those that grow and harvest this tea are greater than those who earn below living wage for what they produce. This is neither the time or the place for standing on a soap box… so I will not digress further at this time into the definition of fair trade. There are wonderful explanations on the Art of Tea website and you are more than welcome to go view the videos and learn about what they are doing to ensure a higher quality product. Why is AppleTEA’ni not fair trade certified? I have no idea… maybe it is the ingredients or… who knows.

AppleTEA’ni contains (organic unless otherwise noted): Green Rooibos, Yunwu, Apple Bits, Cinnamon, Ginger, Cornflower, Natural Flavors (not sure what those are, might not be organic).

Please also note that my Keurig is not the recommended way to brew this tea. While it might be the easiest way for me to enjoy tea throughout the day… they recommend steeping 1 teaspoon for 3 minutes in 180-185° water. I do own a tea pitcher with infuser (that I can no longer highly recommend as one of mine broke for seemingly no reason) that I bought from Art of Tea. While this allows the tea to properly steep… though I have no control over the 192° temperature. Do I think that the 7-12º difference is really important? Maybe, if you’re a purist and you are making tea like a science experiment. I make tea and then remember to drink it while I am working.

Up close this tea smells like fresh cut apples. I am not sure what I expected from this tea, but for a green tea blend it is decent. I have made this tea several times now and this is my last pot from the little sample I purchased. I have enjoyed it, but it is not something I would reorder. There’s just not enough that stands out about it for me.

Sorry there is no picture… whoever decided to make my tea this morning put it in an all black mug… if I took a picture it would just look like a black mug with black beverage. The tea is actually a beautiful golden color though.

~Emme

Leave a Reply

