Product Review: Rishi Tea: Turmeric Lemon

IMG_20121130_123351

“Come, let us have some tea and continue to talk about happy things.”

– Chaim Potok

I drink tea… a lot of tea. With Mr. Wonderful’s gift of a personal Keurig for my office I drink probably more tea than I should. This is my first time ordering from Rishi. They have a pretty wide selection of teas and offer information based on where the teas are grown and sometimes when. I thought it was pretty cool so I ordered some Chai tea (2 kinds so I can determine how they stack up against my favorite from Art of Tea) and a tea to maybe replace my depleting Monk’s Blend. I’ll tell you about both of them later.

They quickly sent out my tea as well as some samples. Now I must say whoever saw my order had a sense of humor if they were the ones to pick the samples. This person has chose some bold caffeinated blends… let’s give her some caffeine free, herbal samples. Humor noted, unknown packer, humor noted.

Turmeric Lemon

I was intrigued by the name, but was prepared to not only detest this tea, but most likely run screaming (or sleeping as there is no caffeine) in the other direction.

Of course, as it is my way, I tried it without reading the ingredients. I threw the teabag into my mug and waited until it was not scalding. I’ll let you know something… this tea… is really good.

Ingredients (all organic): ginger, licorice root, turmeric, lemongrass, orange peel, essential oils of lemon and orange.

Steep time: 5 mins

Temp: 212°

Now if I had seen it had licorice root in it I might not have made it… I really don’t like licorice. Can you see why I don’t read instructions now?

It has a gentle spice from the ginger and it is very warming.

I’m not sure if I would buy it again… might be good for flu season though… as I would seriously like some caffeine in me now.

~Emme

Leave a Reply

