Product Review: Art of Tea’s White Coconut Creme

“Come, let us have some tea and continue to talk about happy things.”

– Chaim Potok

I drink tea… a lot of tea. With Mr. Wonderful’s gift of a personal Keurig for my office I drink probably more tea than I should. This tea was ordered from Art of Tea, it was one of my first sample sized buys

White Coconut Creme is not fair trade certified (or certified organic). While the fair trade certification does nothing substantial in the flavor of the tea, it does tell you that the quality and standards of life of those that grow and harvest this tea are greater than those who earn below living wage for what they produce. This is neither the time or the place for standing on a soap box… so I will not digress further at this time into the definition of fair trade. There are wonderful explanations on the Art of Tea website and you are more than welcome to go view the videos and learn about what they are doing to ensure a higher quality product.

Please also note that my Keurig is not the recommended way to brew this tea. While it might be the easiest way for me to enjoy tea throughout the day… they recommend steeping 1 teaspoon for 1-3 minutes in 175-185 degree water. The fill line on my eco-cup is about 2 1/2 teaspoons and I get the best flavor from my 1st and 2nd cup. And yes… I do brew the same leaves all day at I believe is 165 degrees, but I have no setting control for the temperature. Pot of Gold is a loose tea. You can order empty teabags from Art of Tea or from Amazon or go to the grocery store and get them there if you do not have a strainer or a eco-cup/my-k-cup… I have bought a tea strainer… I figured Art of Tea would like for me to taste their teas properly… although my Keurig still brews water at the same unknown temperature as before.

What is in it? Chinese white tea, safflower, cornflower, coconut shavings and natural flavors. I do not know what makes a natural flavor…

This tea is a lighter tea than I am used to. I tried following the 1-3 minute steep time and ended up with slightly flavored water. It was rather boring and I decided I would hold off on trying this tea later… when I was less in need of the instant warming properties of tea. This time I ignored Art of Tea and let it sit for about 10 minutes (the cup was still warm to the touch). It is slightly bitter and could use just a few grains of sugar… nothing more than that. It is calmly flavored of coconut and gives a nice coconut finish.

I think this would be a great black-iced-tea alternative. I do not put sugar into my iced-tea anyways (I am terrible at being a southern girl sometimes) so this would work well for me. I could see dropping in some frozen pineapples in replacement of ice cubes for a little something special.

You will like this tea as long as you like coconut. I have heard most coconut teas do not taste of coconut, but this one does. It is light and creamy for texture. Give it a try.

Will I buy this tea again? Yes, most definitely.

~Emme

Leave a Reply

