100 Foods: Thyme

While decluttering my bookcase I discovered a hidden gem: Parragon Books’ “100 Best Health Foods.”

This book takes an interesting, in-depth look at 100 amazing foods and discusses their healthy properties. That said, Parragon does not bother to go into any sort of detail as to which seasons the foods are from or where they are from, which is great… as the publisher is in the UK and I am not.

Also the recipes in this book are not necessarily for the busy on-the-go people or they don’t really make the healthy food the stand out in the completed dish.

My plan… I’m going to tackle these 100 health foods relative to their seasonality in my area (some are never seasonable here… but I will follow their seasons in the location in which they are grown) and find simple easy recipes that showcase the foods. Which could be great for amazing foods like plums… but not so great for anchovies…

Thyme

Thyme is a member of the mint family and has antibacterial and bug repelling properties. Thyme plants are perennials and can survive freezes. That means in my area thyme is available year round; however, there is usually more of it in the summer months. Thyme tea has been shown to help reduce coughs as one of the compounds in thyme oil is thymol which increases the bodies’ ability to heal (antibacterial properties) and boots the absorption of other nutrients.

I start with thyme… mostly because I am used to using it and I love it; however… I mostly use dried thyme. Dried thyme is a convenience for me. Fresh thyme has always scared me… so that is what the challenge is for me today.

Fresh Thyme Chicken Burgers

  • Fresh Thyme
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Ground Chicken (since the chicken breast selection was terrible this week)

Have you got the thyme?

I've got the thyme

Now you don’t eat the woody stems (maybe you could if you puree them and put them into a sauce) so you have to pull the little leaves off (super easy by the way). Then they’ll look like this:

Sometimes I keep my thyme in a bowl...

That is about 1 inch of thyme leaves in a small dish… maybe 3 tablespoons of leaves. Mix the chicken burger, thyme and salt and pepper. Form into patties and make burgers… as normal except make sure to cook the chicken all of the way.

mmmm... thyme-ie

I served them on one half of a pita since I forgot to buy bread and all I had on hand was a pita and some tortilla shells… the pita made more sense. If you don’t like American singles (I love the way they melt on burgers) you can use whatever cheese you want.

The leftover thyme was rinsed and rolled in paper towels. Once placed in the freezer for a few days the little leaves can be removed and stored for quite some time (yeah… not inserting the obvious pun there).

How do you use your thyme?

~Emme

2 thoughts on “100 Foods: Thyme

  1. I don’t eat meat but I do use thyme just like you did. I also don’t use salt / pepper much and tend to replace it with thyme as well. You should try it in pasta / rice sometime. It is delicious!

    ♥ Courtney from Swap-Bot

Leave a Reply

