What’s local to me in April?

What is local by you right now?

I had no idea, so I asked the internet what is local to my state and what should be freshest this month.

  • Arugula
  • Asparagus
  • Chard
  • Cherries
  • Collard Greens
  • Fennel
  • Garlic Scapes (Can I find them this year?)
  • Greens Green
  • Onions
  • Kale
  • Morels
  • Wild Mushrooms
  • Nettles
  • New Potatoes
  • Pea Greens (What is a pea green?)
  • Radishes
  • Scallions
  • Strawberries

We do have quite a bit that are year-round foods. My assumption is that this is due to storage of root vegetables/pods and greenhouses.

  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Herbs
  • Leeks
  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Shallots
  • Sorrel
  • Spinach (We like to buy it frozen as we use it mostly in smoothies or soups)
  • Sweet Potatoes

I’m going to see if I can find out what those unknown items are and see about learning how to use them. Do you have any suggestions or ideas?

~Emme

One thought on “What’s local to me in April?

  1. That is am an amazing list of local products available to you.
    I can think of a hundred different things to make with everything listed there. Sounds like that could be an amazing week of raw fooding even.

    ♥ Courtney from Swap-Bot

Leave a Reply

