How Not To Use a Grocery List

This should be where I tell you that after one week I understand the flaws of my grocery shopping lists. You know that it isn’t though.

What was on the list?

  • Prescription medicine (the whole reason for the trip)
  • Eye drops
  • Mac and cheese
  • Drain-O

What did I come home with?

  • Prescription medicine
  • Eye drops
  • Mac and cheese
  • Cheese
  • Salami
  • Wine
  • OJ
  • Granola bars for Mr. Wonderful

You see, I figured with 4 items I could remember the list so I did not write it down. Then I was distracted by the old man handing out samples of imported cheese. Then there was some amazing Swedish cheese which made me think of salami and wine… and the fresh bread I am planning on making this weekend. The OJ is because I always forget to put OJ on the list so I am never sure if we need OJ or not. Thankfully we did need OJ so it was okay. Mr. Wonderful usually has a lunch of a granola bar at work, since he has no refrigerator for leftovers like I do. I try to keep him stocked in a wide variety so he does not get too bored with them and decide not to eat them at all. I usually forget to ask if he is running low so I just buy them when I think of them. I also forgot to check if he was running low when I brought them home… at least they won’t go bad for some time.

I still need drain-o though. Does anyone know of any natural solutions for this? Vinegar or something?

Next time I am going to actually have a list and take the list and only buy what is on it, which could make for some interesting dinners with missing ingredients.

What do you do when that happens?

~Emme

Leave a Reply

