What’s local to me in February?

What is local by you right now?

I had no idea, so I asked the internet what is local to my state and what should be freshest this month.

  • Apples
  • Fennel
  • Kohlrabi (I have no idea so I’m going to have to look this up, makes me think of a river though)
  • Winter
  • Squash
  • Turnips

We do have quite a bit that are year-round foods. My assumption is that this is due to storage of root vegetables/pods and greenhouses.

  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Herbs
  • Leeks
  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Shallots
  • Sorrel (I’m going to have to look this one up as well)
  • Spinach (We like to buy it frozen as we use it mostly in smoothies or soups)
  • Sweet Potatoes

I’m going to see if I can find out what those unknown items are and see about learning how to use them. Do you have any suggestions or ideas?

~Emme

One thought on “What’s local to me in February?

  1. My husband and I recently participated in a cooking team in West Virginia’s Cast Iron Cook-Off that was supposed to use local foods. Our chef has a source for FRESH salad greens….grown in what is called “winter tunnels” low to the ground plastic “greenhouses”. Local foods can be enjoyed….we just need to get out of the mindset of strawberries year round.

Leave a Reply

