Empty Water Bottle

There had been a large empty water bottle on my desk for the last month. Those who knew my aunt and mother knew that they always carried around the giant water bottles wherever they went. After they passed the water bottles were given to me to use in my coffee maker at work. This bottle was the last bottle that was theirs.

Throwing this away was like throwing a piece of them and myself away. This bottle is the definition of sentimental clutter. This bottle is not them or me. They would not want for me to feel guilty about throwing away (recycling) a plastic bottle.

This is a plastic bottle

This is just a plastic bottle.

This bottle is not my mother or my aunt.

This bottle is not a memory.

This bottle is devoid of water and meaning.

This bottle needs to be recycled.

This bottle is gone and I feel better for it.

~Emme

Leave a Reply

